Electrical versus Convection Ovens.

In Singapore, it is not typical for every household to own a convection oven such as this one (shown below) from GE Appliances. In my opinion, Singaporeans in general do not have a culture of baking or cooking using such an oven. It may even be considered as a liability in a home, unless there is a member of the family who loves to bake since she was 14!

I sulked for 9 years without any oven at all, and could only bake when I attended my Food & Nutrition classes in Secondary School – until it was my 23rd birthday! I got this (tiny) electrical oven as a gift.

 

Although this oven cannot bake large cakes or portions at one go, it has served me well. However, I would still want to upgrade to a convection oven when I move to another place in the middle of this year. If there is anyone out there who is willing to share with me their woes (or satisfaction) with an electrical oven, I’m here to listen.

 p/s: Any suggestion for a particular brand of convection oven I should look out for (that isn’t too expensive)?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 Responses to “Electrical versus Convection Ovens.”

  1. Daryl Tay Says:

    I have a convection oven! It actually takes a random pressing of buttons to get it to start. It’s like the most complicated appliance in the house!

    Congrats on almost 50 hits literally overnight! =)

  2. Michael Netzley Says:

    Hey…this is a great start! I trust you are bringing cookies to class on your mini-presentation day? I like oatmeal raisin… Ha Ha Just joking. No cookies required. Keep up the great work!

  3. blackcadillac73 Says:

    If you use the oven often, even the cheapest ones in the market will serve you well. Too many people buy upmarket brands without putting them to use for months and even years. When they finally do turn them on, the power trips due to condensation on the heating elements.

    A good oven brand to consider that’s not too expensive and has a good range of functions would be Bosch. Try to stay away from ovens with LCD control panels. Nice to look at, but can be expensive to replace once faulty.

    Just remember the most important rule to maintain the life of the oven … heat it up for 15 minutes every month even if you are not baking.

    • rajashri Says:

      i am going to buy new baking oven. can u tell me whic brand u r using? i found toyomi and cornell (both have same functions…boh side coild, fan, 99$), but i am not sure which one i shud buy…any suggestions for brand? i want low end

  4. amsiewong Says:

    Daryl: You have one? Blessed you! If it were mine, I’d be researching on how to operate those buttons the moment its in my hands. So bake us something for our class one day, Daryl?😉

    Michael: Hi there!🙂 Thanks for visiting. I will surely consider bringing cookies, with Daryl’s help of course (allows flying in the air).

    blackcadillac73: I really got to agree that my oven has served me very well, the only downside is that I have to bake in many batches due to its small size, up to even 8 times when I bake a lot! Thank you so much for the advice! Will definitely look out for Bosch ovens when my family renovates the kitchen.

  5. Daryl Tay Says:

    Haha! I’ve tried oatmeal raisin ONCE! Ams, do you have a recipe to share? =)

  6. amsiewong Says:

    Hey D, I’ve not tried oatmeal raisin before! How did yours turn out? Share yours!

  7. Sherxr Says:

    Hello. Nice blog. Saw your blog on facebook group.
    For oven, I’ve been using Baby Belling for more than 5 years. It is not like the usual ovens you get on the market. It has no timer and not glass door for you to peek at your cakes while they are baking. But according to my engineer aunt, this oven keeps the heat the best. Thus taking less time to heat up. I’m sorry I can’t rem the exact power consumption. When I bought it, it costs slightly over $500. You could probably get it cheaper whenever there’s an offer. This brand is made in UK. Very trustworthy. And excellent for breadbaking! And roasting your turkey!🙂 Happy Baking.

  8. amsiewong Says:

    Hey Sherxr, thank you for visiting! Just visited your blog and realised that we have a lot in common!
    My dream is to be a stay-home-mum with lots of freedom in managing my time and job. With that, I’d love a “bake from home” business and to eventually open my own bakery in Singapore.🙂

    I really appreciate your insights on the Baby Belling, will definitely keep that in mind!🙂

  9. Sherxr Says:

    Hi. Thanks. Just added your link to my blog.
    Well.. If circumstances allow, that is I get my work permit sooner, I would not want to stay at home! hahaha:P I can’t stop working unless I have no choice.
    I wish to have a baking empire :D! Not based in SG but global! Ambitious hur?
    My advice on ovens and if you are serious about baking… don’t choose “intelligent” ovens. You should learn baking from scratch and not let the oven tell you how long to bake your sweet treats.

  10. amsiewong Says:

    Hey Sherxr, thank you. I’ve linked you up too.
    So you’re working from home in Croatia right now? I am so sure that you’ll have your baking empire if that’s what your heart so desires for! That’ll be awesome.
    What matters to me is a work-life balance. In Singapore I doubt it’s a usual thing for a 24 year old to want to be a stay-home-mum, but it is my dream to teach my kids in almost all aspects in their lives and be able to bake muffins with them as and when they want. So perhaps any job that pays well and allows balance would be perfect.🙂
    Yes I am serious about baking, I use to stay up even after midnight to bake, haha! I agree on that part about ‘intelligent’ ovens. I put a lot of pride in baking things from scratch and whatever oven I may choose, there’s always a ‘getting-to-know-you’ stage between the oven and the baker. I’m looking forward to my new and larger oven!

  11. Sherxr Says:

    Not working.. just cooking for my fiance all the time. He’s put on weight since I came here!😛
    It’s good that you know what you want in life. I’m sure you will be a good mum too!🙂
    Baking oh baking… it’s the most satisfying hobby on earth. Satisfies all the senses from a fresh loaf! I love breads!!!!

  12. amsiewong Says:

    Sherxr: I’d love to get a bread maker and always bake my own breads. You use the oven for making breads? It’s pretty hard work yea?

  13. fish Says:

    heya! jumped over from daryl’s. i totally feel your pain about the oven! i’ve only got an oven recently (secretly sharing with my bf) and it’s like i’ve got to make up for all those last time! (=

  14. amsiewong Says:

    Hey fish, oh I so excited for you! Happy baking. Cupcakes were my favourite to bake when I first got my oven. It bakes evenly as its small. It’s so much fun. So does your boyfriend share your love for baking?

  15. KitchenAid, The Ultimate Kitchen Appliance. « Curious Foodie. Says:

    […] The Ultimate Kitchen Appliance. Besides wanting a larger oven, I secretly dream of owning a Kitchen Aid (red in colour). It is gorgeous, it looks somewhat […]

  16. Julia Says:

    Ariston’s quite good – I’ve been using it almost a year and a half now.

  17. amsiewong Says:

    Julia:🙂 Thank you for the tip! Now i’d have an array of ovens to look at when I go shopping for one.

  18. The Only Time I’ve Use Betty Crocker Cake Mix. « Curious Foodie. Says:

    […] The Only Time I’ve Use Betty Crocker Cake Mix. Call me a person that’s full of pride, it doesn’t matter. I simply refuse to use even Betty Crocker’s delicious cake mix when baking. The only time I’ve used it is when I had to bake numerous cupcakes for my friend’s birthday. It’ll simply take too much time to bake large batches of cupcakes in my tiny oven. […]

  19. Thermador Says:

    Read up and use that thing! it looks like fun in the kitchen! I use my oven all the time. Baking is great!

  20. Agustina Fracchia Says:

    I found this site to be a excellent selection if someone is searching for solutions to their everyday issues. It is certain that I will come back to check it out further

  21. Heriberto Rahama Says:

    A friend encoraged me to check out this site, nice post, fanstatic read… keep up the cool work!

  22. Shanti Lampi Says:

    good post, I enjoyed reading your blog. Ill have to bookmark it and read more of it later. How soon do you update?

  23. small jobs Says:

    small jobs…

    […]Electrical versus Convection Ovens. « Curious Foodie.[…]…

  24. roseg242001 Says:

    I want to try baking.Any suggestion of what type,brand of oven I must buy. For a starter its seems I need to have affordable and friendly oven to use.🙂

  25. Fyn Says:

    Erm hi , can i know is this oven bought in singapore & whats the pricing for it ? I hope i could heard from you soon . Thanks a lot .

  26. appliances online Says:

    Somebody necessarily assist to make severely posts I might state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this actual put up extraordinary. Great task!

Leave a Reply

