My first Chinese New Year reunion dinner.

During the Chinese New Year eve (or days leading up to the eve), family members get together for a reunion dinner celebration. This reunion dinner was a treat from my boyfriend’s family. The eight-course dinner was enjoyed at:

King Crab & Seafood 
Block 204, Serangoon Central
#01-104

This “coffee-shop” style eatery is well known for its crab beehoon. Here’s a photo example of the dish, unfortunately not from King Crab & Seafood. Our dinner set did not include this dish but I remember it as being really delicious.


(Image taken from Eat Like Us food blog)

The first dish, as per tradition, was Yu Sheng (鱼生). Family members would use their chopsticks to mix this raw fish salad while reciting wishes for the new year. To ensure that we are “blessed every year” ( Nian Nian You Yu 年年有魚, literally meaning there is fish or leftover every year), some of the fish salad would be left on the plate unfinished. This dish was yummy.

Here’s the second to fifth dish (clockwise).
Sharksfin soup, Fried bean-curd skin with ginkgo nuts and vegetables, Deep fried prawns & a Spicy Thai Seafood Salad.

The sixth to eighth dish include Fried Chicken with Lemon Sauce, Orh-Ni (a warm yam dessert) & Mandarin Oranges. There’s also a photo of some lanterns sighted along the way back home.


If anyone knows the significance of these dishes do share them with me, I’m curious to know. Tomorrow’s another reunion dinner session, on the actual eve of Chinese New Year. Updates on that soon.
Here’s wishing all my fellow Chinese friends a happy and prosperous New Year!🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “My first Chinese New Year reunion dinner.”

  1. jacquelinechang Says:

    I know oranges is ‘da ji da li’!

  2. amsiewong Says:

    Oh thanks babe! I just went to search and I found this on Kelvin Wong Photography 2008 flickr site.

    The mandarin orange is the must have fruit for Chinese New Year, traditionally, Chinese believe that the mandarin orange gives people good fortune. Da Ji Da Li (大吉大利), is a greeting for Chinese New Year, meaning the bigger the mandarin orange, the better fortune you get!
    🙂

  3. Sherxr Says:

    Hey here’s wishing you a happy Chinese New Year in advance. This year I’m not in Singapore (again *sobs*). I’m making my own reunion dinner with my fiance and his family.🙂 I miss all the food back home!!!1 I’m drooling at the pics!!!! :P~~~~~

  4. amsiewong Says:

    Oh Sher, you’re from Singapore? That is awesome.😀
    Well as long as you’re with a loved one, any reunion dinner would be special. Have fun with your dinner, I’m heading off to mine pretty soon.

    Nice depiction of you drooling, haha! :P~~~~~

  5. Sherxr Says:

    Yes I am. Have not been home for Chinese New Year for the past few days except last year….
    I had reunion dinner with my fiance.🙂 As usual we gobbled all the food!😀
    That’s why it’s great to have someone to share every festival with!

  6. amsiewong Says:

    Sounds like fun. It’s always great to have that special someone there with you for all festivities. Up next is Valentine’s Day!😀 Have a good one.

  7. Fu Zhou (福州) Fish balls for Chinese New Year. « Curious Foodie. Says:

    […] reunion dinner last night at my grandmother’s place wasn’t boring nor entirely interesting. The food […]

Leave a Reply

