My Valentine’s Day Experience At Corduroy & Finch.

I had a good time at Corduroy & Finch, one of my top 3 restaurant suggestions as mentioned in my previous post. I’ll relate this experience to you through some of the many photos I took yesterday.

I was greeted by this gorgeous restaurant, tucked away in the corner of 6th Avenue. When the boyfriend and I arrived at 8pm, the place was only half-filled with families, couples and a large group of at least 16 people having a collective Valentine’s Day celebration. The crowd kicked in about an hour later.

There was a box of 6 chocolates on each table, and each chocolate had the words “I Love You” on it.

The Valentine’s Day menu. My boyfriend and I opted for the Grilled Beef Tenderloin, medium-rare. We’re both meat lovers.

While we waited for our food to arrive (which took a wee bit longer than expected), trigger-happy me starting to snap away with my camera (Fuji Finepix F31). Here’s a photo of me with the free chocolates, a view from the second floor (the restaurant was showing a film from the sixties), a photo of the stairway up to the second floor and a photo of the place-mat.

Here’s the food😀

(From top-left, description moving clockwise) 

Starter: North American lamb pastries, almond yoghurt sauce, garlic oil and toasted pine nuts.
3.9 over 5 stars – the sauce and nuts makes this dish different from a normal Chinese dumpling.

Main Course: Grilled beef tenderloin & baby lobster tail, cep sauce & lobster butter.
4.4 over 5 stars – a very juicy cut of beef with a generous amount of delightful sauce with some mashed potatoes.

Dessert: Strawberry sunburst, champagne rose jelly & lychee compote.
2.8 over 5 stars – I thought they could have done much better with their dessert and I wasn’t too fond of all that rose flavouring in it. However, the strawberry sunburst cake had saved this entire dish from failing at my ratings.

Turkish Delight
2.3 over 5 stars – Okay maybe I am just very particular about how turkish delight should taste like. I like it traditional without any additional flavourings added (rose again) and with some pistachios. However it had a very impressive ‘melt-in-your-mouth’ effect.

The meal ended with a freshly brewed lavazza coffee and some shortbread that was delicious.

Total damage: S$168
Overall rating: 4.3 over 5 stars
(Dropped slight from the previous 4.5 stars, on normal days they’re better at their food and service)

How did you spend your Valentine’s Day?🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “My Valentine’s Day Experience At Corduroy & Finch.”

  1. Daryl Tay Says:

    I made pizza! was pretty darn good if i don’t say so myself =)

  2. Cakespy Says:

    Well, it looks like it was a lovely experience either way! My husband and I are going on a trip this weekend but didn’t really do anything for the day-of.

  3. bren Says:

    i had a “threesome” dinner at la nonna (holland v). can i just say that your tags are amazing!!!! I was more amazed reading the words that you tagged.. =)

  4. amsiewong Says:

    Daryl: Wow cool, you made everything from scratch?

    Cakespy: Yes it was a lovely experience, most of the time it is who you’re with that matters🙂 Have a lovely trip and more spying on cakes I suppose? I love your site, it brings NYC that much closer to me here in Singapore. I’ve added you to my blogroll and will be visiting often.

    bren: Hope you had a fun “threesome” dinner! How was la nonna’s food and service? What’s up with my tags?😀

  5. Mass Marketing Says:

    It appears that you have put a good amount of effort into your blog and this world require more of these on the Internet these days. The both of us actually enjoyed your post. I do not have a great deal to say in reply, I just wanted to sign up to reply well done.I always learn something new from your post!

    Read my latest blog post “Boost The Number Of Visits On Your Website Thanks To Article Submission. ” from ” http://massmarketing.pro/boost-the-number-of-visits-on-your-website-thanks-to-article-submission.html

    If you like it, don’t forget to mention in your site.

Leave a Reply

