What If You Only Had These 12 Ingredients In Your Kitchen?

My previous helper did not cook at home and hence my kitchen always had too little ingredients for me to whip up any dish. However I always managed to get creative, sometimes with the help of additional items (a quick visit to my Shop & Save supermarket, a five minute walk away).

What would you cook if you only had these 12 ingredients in your kitchen? (Assuming in any reasonable amount)
1. Apples
2. Butter
3. Chicken Meat (Any part)
4. Chicken Eggs
5. Garlic
6. Fresh Mushrooms
7. Chocolate
8. Rice
9. Flour (Any type)
10. Herbs & Spices
11. Pasta (Any type)
12. Sugar

I would cook these two dishes:
1. Herbed Mushroom & Chicken Pasta
2. Apple Crumble

1. Herbed Mushroom & Chicken Pasta

Ingredients
Butter, Garlic, Mushrooms, Chicken, Herbs & Spices and Pasta

Directions
1. Marinate the chicken (cut into small pieces) with Herbs & Spices for an hour in the fridge before cooking.
2. Boil pasta till al dente with some salt – I’m assuming there’s always salt in the kitchen!😉
3. Mince garlic and cook in butter till lightly browned.
4. Add in chicken and fry over low heat.
5. Add in sliced mushrooms and continue to mix till it softens.
6. Add more Herbs & Spices/Salt to taste.
7. Mix in the cooked pasta and serve.

2. Apple Crumble

Ingredients
Apples, Butter, Flour and Sugar

Directions
1. Pre-heat oven to 180 °C.
2. Slice and core the apples.
3. Rub flour, sugar and cubed butter together till it resembles breadcrumbs.
4. Place apples into a bowl and sprinkle over some sugar and incorporate it lightly with your hands.
5. Butter a baking dish and place apples in first, followed by the “breadcrumb-looking” crumble.
6. Bake in oven for 40 to 50 minutes until you see the apple browning and the crumble looking gorgeously golden brown.

I didn’t use any eggs or rice. As for the chocolate, I would probably eat it on its own at a later time.🙂

What would you cook if you only had these 12 ingredients in your kitchen?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “What If You Only Had These 12 Ingredients In Your Kitchen?”

  1. Sherxr Says:

    This is really interesting! I think you should post this weekly. Challenge ourselves as to what we can come up for dinner. Here’s my take without recipes:
    Starter: Chicken Soup with Noodles (Small Pasta for soup)
    Main course: Egg Fried Rice (Rice, Eggs and Garlic with spices) and Batter coated mushrooms (Tempura style)
    Desserts: Snow Apples (Apples, spices, Sugar and Egg whites)
    I suppose you will be having Coffee to finish off your meal So I have some Chocolate coated shortbread to go along!
    All ingredients utilised!! I passed the test!😛

  2. Cakespy Says:

    Gosh, don’t know if I could do it! I would probably eat the chocolate and let Mr. Cakespy figure it out…you know, if we are being honest!

  3. amsiewong Says:

    Sherxr: Thanks Sher!🙂 Wow you managed to use all the ingredients, good on you. I’ll email you if I want those recipes that you mentioned!

    Cakespy: I’m guessing you could just grab Mr. Cakespy out of the house and visit one of the gorgeous places that you spy on!🙂

  4. Sherxr Says:

    Heee I spent a good whole 10 minutes on this! I don’t make tempura!😛

  5. Rose Marie Says:

    I think this would fit your requirements although it wouldn’t use all the ingredients.
    An omelet filled with butter braised mushrooms, chopped fresh parsley, and tarragon. I think lots of parsley and mushrooms since there is no other vegetable or salad. Garnish the plate with slices of an unpeeled apple for color and nutrition and contrast. If you wish to add a dessert, then angel food cake, drizzled with chocolate syrup and served with a cup of peppermint tea.
    This is a good creative exercise. Something I’m trying to work at more. It would save time, money and gas.

  6. amsiewong Says:

    Rose Marie: Wow thanks!🙂 I’ve always had a problem with baking angel food cake. Oh well, perhaps I’m just not sure what I am doing wrong.

  7. Stevi K. Says:

    This was great… I work with seniors and once a month we have a baking class.. now I can see if anyone knows the answer to this question.

Leave a Reply

