Fruit Muffin Crumble Topping Recipe.

As promised in my previous post, here is the recipe I use for all my fruit muffins. It really brings so much more flavour and texture to the muffins. It is for anyone with a super-sweet tooth.

Fruit Muffin Crumble Topping Recipe (For 12 muffins)

Ingredients
3 tbsp of unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup packed brown sugar (I prefer slightly course brown sugar)
1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Directions
1. In a bowl, mix all the ingredients together and mix it with your finger tips (as it is the coolest part of your hands and it will prevent the butter from melting too quickly). Mix till a crumble consistency is achieved.
2. Sprinkle over un-baked muffin, before placing muffins into the oven.
3. Enjoy a delicious muffin(s) with tea!

I also mentioned that I had my fair share of problems while baking muffins. My muffins would sometimes turn out like rocks and have large holes in them. I did the following to solve this.

  • I added less egg.
  • I added less liquids.
  • I avoid over-mixing my muffins by mixing the wet & dry ingredients with my hands, instead of a wooden spoon or electric mixer.

However, somehow my banana muffins always don’t turn out as well as I would like them to. They aren’t that moist. Any tips?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Fruit Muffin Crumble Topping Recipe.”

  1. Karen Says:

    amsiewong, you can try adding more butter to it… =)

  2. Sherxr Says:

    Hello. I’ve tried cutting in the butter using a butter knife. It works pretty well and prevent the melting of butter when mix by hand!🙂

  3. amsiewong Says:

    Karen: Thanks for the tip.🙂

    Sherxr: Ahh yes I did that too, but I prefer coming into closer contact with my food. Haha, with clean hands of course! Btw, I am still looking for that Hoisin sauce, I’ve yet to visit those large supermarts. The small ones do not carry Hoisin sauce. I will keep looking out!

  4. Sherxr Says:

    Don’t sweat over the Hoisin sauce.🙂 I’m just curious you know. Like the name of your blog:P

  5. amsiewong Says:

    Sherxr: Heh, sure thing. But you’ve made me curious about Hoisin sauce too!😀

  6. Rosie Says:

    What a great recipe for muffins😀 Lovely post and pics!
    Rosie x

  7. amsiewong Says:

    Rosie: Thank you for your kind words. *blush.

  8. Donna Says:

    Try using sour cream instead of milk in muffin and quick bread recipes. It keeps them moist and wonderful.

  9. MadeleineW Says:

    Try using applesauce instead of milk. My mother would use that to make cornmeal (from scratch) and believe it or not, you could not taste the apple flavor, just moistness. If she did not have applesauce, she’d put less milk and add a tablespoon of mayonnaise.

  10. amsiewong Says:

    Donna: Wow thanks, I used to use sour cream for my muffins and I remember them being super moist, will try!🙂

    MadelineW: Thanks for visiting. Applesauce and mayonnaise sounds unique, I will try it!🙂

  11. nicole Says:

    love these goodies! I am going to try them all – banana c/chips muffin-ies baking now! move over campbells – this will steal the title of MmmMMM Good! 😉

  12. gigi Says:

    the more bananas the moister🙂

  13. denise brooks Says:

    whenever i make banana bread, immediately after i remove it from oven, i wrap it with aluminum foil. it keeps the warmth, moisture contained, and the bread is always moist. i guess you could try this with muffins as well.

  14. Amanda Says:

    Dont Over smoosh the bananas and only cut in to a crumble comsistancy.🙂 also I like to add a tablespoon of strong coffe or espresso to add flavor.🙂

  15. iPhone Apple Says:

    iPhone Apple…

    […]Fruit Muffin Crumble Topping Recipe. « Curious Foodie.[…]…

  16. Sam Says:

    Recepies please,,

Leave a Reply

