Food Photography Tips, Part III.

Part III – The Continuation of the Composition of Food Photography

Today I’ll be covering Focus and the Message.

1. Focus

There are 2 types of focuses:

a. Limited Focus – Photos with an ‘artsy’ feel

When I took a photo of this Colourful Kueh Lapis, I wanted to focus specifically on one Keh’s multiple layers. Such photographs are used more in Naked Food Photography.

b. Maximum Focus – Photos including display components

I’m not sure if this is the best example, but it does show many different Chinese dishes that my Grandmother cooked for dinner. You can see her (at the top of the photo) pointing to the food and encouraging us to start eating. Such photographs are used more in Packaging Photography, which allows the photographer to showcase an array of items like a different food products distributed by a particular company. For example, Procter and Gamble.

2. The Message

What is the message you want your photographs to bring across to your viewers? Do you want people to see your food as “I so got to get myself some of that now!” delicious, sweet, soft, hard, sour or even mysterious? Here are some of my examples.

The message: Fresh and naturally sweet strawberries.

The message: An absolutely scrumptious pasta dish.

The message: Artificially and sinfully sweet donuts, that are incredibly delicious.

The message: Unusual Durian Chee Chong Fun, only for the adventurous and not for the faint-hearted.

I hope you’ve all learned something today.🙂 More tips coming up tomorrow.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Food Photography Tips, Part III.”

  1. K Says:

    I’ve had so much fun reading these! I wish that we had a cool seminar like that available here — I would go in a heartbeat. And your pictures are absolutely scrumptious-looking! 🙂

  2. James Says:

    Great photography tips ! Are those durian chee cheong fun really available in Singapore ?

  3. Rosie Says:

    Thank you for posting about food photography ttps, I am going to print all of these out to sit and read. Many thanks you are such a sweetie for sharing this with us😀

    Rosie x

  4. erinstark Says:

    Wonderful photos. I want to try that durian chee chong fun! I’ve never seen it in Australia though😦

  5. amsiewong Says:

    K: Hey K, where are you from? Thank you for your compliments.🙂

    James: Thanks! Yes I had it at Killiney Road’s “RICE ROLL & PORRIDGE”. Click here for more details.

    Rosie: Thank you for appreciating it!🙂

    erinstark: Come visit Singapore and try it! As for me, I took one small portion of it and gave the rest to my boyfriend. I am not too fond of it, heh.

  6. lBoeFoledwe Says:

    I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your thought is outstanding; the problem is something that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very glad that I stumbled across this in my search for something regarding this.

  7. dKirstenMwxrqla Says:

    I believe I will change to this blogengine system as it is a lot nicer than mine.

Leave a Reply

