My Home-cooked Meals.

When I was young, my grandfather would cook my dinners for me. When I moved out to live with my mother, we stopped having home-cooked meals. It is only recently that God had blessed my family with a lovely helper that can cook really well. :D

This was a meal cooked for my entire family, just before a Mahjong game. There was mutton & potatoes in coconut sauce, broccoli & mushrooms, fried tofu with bean sprouts, fried chicken, egg omelette, prawns in tomato sauce and a soup dish (not shown in the photo).

This one is a simpler dinner for 5. I didn’t manage to take a photo of the soup. In Cantonese meals, it is a must to have a soup dish. My family believes in cooking our soup in a pressure cooker to attain the best results. In this meal, there was steamed fish, deep fried mashed potatoes and spinach.

As much as I love eating home-cooked meals, sometimes it is nice to eat out. I consider Singapore to be a food paradise, with many 24-hour eateries to choose from. There is always something to eat.

This was a seafood dinner treat by a friend sometime back. There were only 5 of us, but somehow we cleared almost all the plates. There was sambal stingray, cockles, prawns, squid, etc. We Singaporeans love to eat and we live to eat. :)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “My Home-cooked Meals.”

  1. jeena Says:

    Wow that is one great meal for 5! It looks totally delicious and amazing. :-)

  2. Cakespy Says:

    What a spread!!! Looks like you probably had plenty of delicious leftovers too!

  3. Rosie Says:

    WOW this is one banquet it looks awesome :D I just wouldn’t know where to start eating as it all looks equally delicious mmmmmm….

    Rosie x

  4. amsiewong Says:

    jeena: Yes I’ve been eating a lot recently. :P

    Cakespy: Yup sometimes we reheat the leftovers for lunch the following day.

    Rosie: I always have a problem with that! I love looking at a large spread of food. :)

  5. K Says:

    I love these pictures. I’m starving now. Could you find room for one more person at the table? I’ll fly over there from Texas right now. ;)

  6. amsiewong Says:

    K: Haha that’s really sweet! So you’re from Texas, where exactly? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

