Singapore Hawker Centres & Food Courts.

I chanced upon an interesting and pretty accurate write up about Singapore’s hawker centres in The New York Times. A food court is simply an air-conditioned hawker centre. A hawker centre is very close to a Singaporean’s heart and many are opened for 24-hours. If you’re a frequent reader of my blog, you would already know by now that we Singaporeans “live to eat” (more so than “eat to live”). To some degree, that applies to me.

I’ve been eating a lot recently at the hawker centre next to Allson Hotel(the one with a 4-faced buddha alter). The white fried carrot cake is pretty decent. The prawn noodles and fish bee hoon (sliced fish/fried fish/fish head) is really delicious. My friend Calin Chua recommends it here too.

This makes doing projects in school till after midnight that much easier to bear.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Singapore Hawker Centres & Food Courts.”

  1. Yusuf Says:

    Hey amelia! I’ve been reading this website of yours for some time and i thought i should leave a comment. I’m so impressed! Haha you must be very passionate to be coming out with entry after entry, and I must say your creations look very delectable. Can i try someday??

  2. amsiewong Says:

    Yusuf: Thank you.🙂 Are you the Yusuf that I know from years ago?

  3. Yusuf Says:

    the very same!

  4. amsiewong Says:

    Cool!😀

  5. neha Says:

    hi i m neha from india. i m an architecture student in 5th year and doing my thesis, hakwer centre in india. can u please tell me more abt hawker centres in singapore . i mean abt the culture , its history and structures. or can u please email me few pics of hawker centre. how many people visit per day? please kindly help me in this. reply me asap please . waiting for ur reply.

  6. amsiewong Says:

    Hi Neha, nice of you to visit my blog.🙂

    Could you mail me at amsiewong@gmail.com the questions? Not so sure about the no.of people that visit hawker centres here in Singapore because it would vary across different locations.

Leave a Reply

