Bak Chor Mee Is One Of My Favourite Foods.

An Update:

Today (22 March), I realised that the Bak Chor Mee at “S-11 Serangoon Central Food House” (map) is very tasty! I rate it 4.1 over 5 stars. Here is the exact address:

Block 261 

Serangoon Central Drive

#01-05

 

😀 This time, I remembered to take a photo.

__________________________________________________________ 

While I was on a site visit today, I decided to eat my lunch at G23 Food Centre (Fansida Building) located near Aljunied MRT (the local train service).

It is about a five minute walk away from the MRT.

This is how a typical hawker centre in Singapore would look like.

I ordered a bowl of Bak Chor Mee from “Ali Shan Noodle House”. I did not manage to take a photo as I was too hungry to remember.😉 I rate the noodles a 1.6 over 5 stars.

For me, there was too much ketchup and the lack of flavour from the chilli. There was too much lard and there were no meatballs! Meatballs are the main reason for me when it comes to eating Bak Chor Mee, I was therefore very disappointed.

The stall’s saving grace is their server Uncle, who was a pretty peculiar chap. He cracked me up when he asked if my Fuji Finepix F31 camera (which was sitting on the table) was the latest Nokia N95 phone. It totally brightened up my afternoon.😀

If you really want some good Bak Chor Mee, take a look at this list. I will be tracking them down real soon.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Bak Chor Mee Is One Of My Favourite Foods.”

  1. vinnythemarv Says:

    Personally, I don’t really agree with that list. I have some doubts about it. I am not keen into franchised outlets like Chai Chee, they are ok but I feel there’s a lack of heart. The Bedok Blk 85 ones are alright, they do it in a soupy manner which is really hearty.

    My personal favorites are Tai Hwa at Blk 466 Crawford Lane, and Ah Kow at Hong Lim, where the queues are a real killer. Tai Hwa was formerly at Marina Square if you can remember. More importantly, I love this 2 stores because you can taste the rich teochew Ah Hia heritage they have, just from their bowls of noodles.=)

  2. karen Says:

    I haven’t tried the Tai Hwa bak chor mee but I heard it has that oomph! factor. Babe, go try and tell us how u feel about it! Calin will know where it is as it’s located in the same coffeeshop as that western food we tried out! HUGS

  3. brendanstallard Says:

    Amelia,

    You seem to eat out a lot, is eat out food cheap in Singapore?

    Most of it looks scrumptious!

    If I ever get rich, I’m coming to Singapore and I will hire you for a week to guide me round the best places to eat:) Singapore is one of the few places in the world I’ve never been, you make it look like great fun.

    brendan

  4. amsiewong Says:

    vinnythemarv: Oh thank you for those 2 stores, will surely be visiting them. You seem to love Bak Chor Mee a lot too!😀

    karen: Yes yes I sure will my dear.🙂

    brendanstallard: I have a balance of eating out and having homecooked food, I’m a very blessed girl.😀 Food in Singapore is very affordable. For example, the average price of a bowl of Bak Chor Mee would be S$4 – which is pretty all right. Do visit Singapore soon, its got great people and great food!🙂 If you do decide to come, drop me an email and I’ll suggest some of the best places for you to eat. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

