Sakae Sushi @ Wheelock.

I visited this branch of Sakae Sushi last night with my boyfriend for the first time. It wasn’t unusual to see a long queue outside and since we had some time to kill before our movie, we joined the queue.

This outlet was unique from others due to its spaciousness and plush chairs. It really had a “tucked away” ambiance. I rate my entire experience a 1.5 over 5 stars.

Why did I rate them so low?
– The food decoration was inconsistent
– The food did not look fresh
– The red premium plates claimed a drop in price to S$4.90 but the portions had also reduced
– I love Japanese food so perhaps I am harder to please

Sakae Sushi had other not so pleasant comments at Hungry Go Where too.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Sakae Sushi @ Wheelock.”

  1. amanda linqq Says:

    amelia jiejie .. did u try before sushi tei..?? i went to 2 of its branch… one is in serangoon garden and 1 in vivocity…. my family n i (expect for my grandparents … cause they nv went..) prefer the one in vivo city cause the fried chicken is very crispy and delicious…as it is sliced in thin pieces… but the one in serangoon garden is not sliced but big pieces of the chicken that was not very nice … i also dunno… when its like eating too much of it me puke….(as i’m a miss chicken eater..!! (X ) but the one in vivo … is nice… and in the branch in serangoon garden has alots of little ants crawling on the wall….as i was sitting at the end of the counter table….so if u haven be there u go for a try..!!! =D

  2. amanda linqq Says:

    go to http://www.sushitei.com.sg … =)

  3. Vanessa Says:

    True that.
    Sakae is akin to fast food these days.
    Kinda like an expensive happy meal.

  4. amsiewong Says:

    amanda: Thank you for all that information!🙂 Yup I’ve tried Sushi Tei, it’s not bad but it is more expensive as compared to Sakae Sushi. Kazu has the best Japanese food by far, very authentic.

    Vanessa: Yeah kind of huh? But I still really enjoyed my dinner yesterday, sometimes it’s really just about the company you’re with.😀

  5. Elaine Says:

    Yup, Sushi Tei is of a higher tranche but the food is fresh and of quality. I’ve worked there before and they are pretty strict about freshness. So sushi on the belt are timed. When it had been “treadmilling” for too long, they are removed and thrown away. Don’t know if they do it anymore tho.

    Anyway, there’s this new Japanese grill restaurant at Suntec Galleria called “Shin kushinya” (I think). My friends introduced it to me and I like it.

    The restaurant’s tuck away in a small corner and it’s a peaceful eating place. Do try it. =) Great grills too!

  6. amsiewong Says:

    Elaine: Oh what an insight, thank you! Will try Shin kushinya soon, heard a lot of good reviews about it.🙂

  7. Vanessa Says:

    If you’re really into authentic japanese food (without the conveyor belt thing) you can try Shiro at Greenwood ave.
    It’s slightly on the expensive side but the food is really good.
    Lunches are cheaper.
    Reservations is required though.

  8. amsiewong Says:

    Vanessa: Thanks! And you should try Kazu too.😀 At cuppage.

  9. vinnythemarv Says:

    Wow! Shiro! It’s really ex though, but a great place for a date.=)

    I believe most of us have out-grown Sakae. Our tastebuds have become more refined and our expectations naturally increases. I don’t really eat at sakae anymore either. I head over to Tomo at Marina Square for my regular sushi fixes.

    If you are into sushi and sashimi, I would recommend Tomo along with Tatsuya and Nogawa. But if you are into Tempura, it would be Tenshin. While for Yakitori, there’s Nanbantei and Shunjuu.=p

Leave a Reply

