My Interview With Trained Baker, Sherene Tan.

Sherene is someone I’ve gotten to know from this blog of mine a couple of months ago. She is a Singaporean living in Croatia and is a trained baker. I’ve asked her to guest blog for this post because she has inspired me in many ways and I hope we could all learn something from her.

Amsie: What is it about the food in Croatia and Singapore that you love and/or dislike?
 
Sherene: Croatian food…let’s see it can be really uncreative. They stick to whatever they were eating since they first tasted food. Usually meat (which I can’t stand too much of). Very little choice of fresh vegetables. But the fresh ones are really good. Like what others call organic. Everything is organic here! They are still growing crops the traditional way. Fish and seafood are very fresh. Usually grilled to preserve freshness. And of course, I love the fresh octopuses! Simply boiled and served as salad with olive oil. Mmmm…that is natural food at its best!

Singapore my dear Singapore…I love the choice of food! I eat a lot when I’m at home. And my mum’s cuisine is the best on earth! Envy me, I’m just plain lucky! Spicy food is my number ONE! I would choose Malay food over Chinese, than Indian than Western (and miscellaneous). Oh I have to squeeze Japanese food somewhere on par with Chinese. What I missed now? Teh-C! Ahhhh! What I hate about Singapore food is that you can’t find authentic Italian or French cuisine. It is overpriced, not good enough and overhyped!

Amsie: What makes the food in these two countries difference and/or alike?

Sherene: More differences than similarities between the two. Only common point is the seafood and how they like to  maximise the taste of the fish when they cook it. The best stuff are so natural and locally produced. The Olive Oil, Olives, Honey, Wine and even Pršut (Proscuitto) are so Ooh La la!  Oh and even fresh yeast that comes in 40g pack. Neat hur?

Amsie: When and how did you fall in love with cooking and baking?

Sherene: As long as I could remember. My mum cooks everything so well. She loves breads and still recalls those fresh loaves she used to get when she was young. So I went to learn baking. And make lots of fresh bread with different varieties for her! No one in my family actually like cakes. Too sweet for their liking. But I love my chocolate cakes and muffins. My mates used to call my Muffin Lady.

Amsie: Muffin Lady, that’s cute :) So what do you aspire to be?
 
Sherene: A boss of an F&B enterprise. A few types of F&B companies under one. I will not tell you my business plans yet. Trade secret!

Amsie: What is the one food you cannot do without?

Sherene: Bread! and Butter to go with it.

You can visit her blog to learn more about her adventures in food and Croatia.

Thank you for doing this Sherene!😀

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “My Interview With Trained Baker, Sherene Tan.”

  1. Sherxr Says:

    Thank you!!1 Yikes! So big head!! Scare everyone off your blog for the day! MUahahahaha

  2. amsiewong Says:

    Sherxr: You look absolutely fine my dear, normal sized head to me! lol. My hits spiked because of this post, whee!😀

  3. Sherxr Says:

    It did??? Where’s mine? I need more traffic!!! hahahah
    Give my face back.
    Now it’s your turn to guest blog for me.

  4. amsiewong Says:

    Sherxr: Woohoo send me the questions!😀

  5. My First Guest Blog! « Curious Foodie. Says:

    […] First Guest Blog! I’m all smiles right now. I had the honour of getting Sherene to guest blog for me previously. So when she asked me to guest blog for her, it was a definite […]

  6. My Blogger Friend Sherene To Be In Singapore In October. « Curious Foodie. Says:

    […] once did a guest entry for me and likewise me for […]

Leave a Reply

