Cafe’ Cartel’s Food Standard Has Dropped.

On the last day of my finance exams last friday, my friends and I went to have a celebratory lunch at Raffles City’s Cafe‘ Cartel. The restaurant is blessed that since it was the last day of exams, my review of them might be worse.

Service: 3 over 5 stars.
The waitress brought us our knifes after we asked for it. Other than that, nothing else special for the now 10% service charge that was not payable before. 

Food: 1.5 over 5 stars
Bad. My pasta was served, almost gliding off the plate. My friend’s fish portion was too little (as a small eater, she had managed to finish it). The bread was as tough as stone at the corners. The soup was so watery.

My chicken spaghetti. Too much, a little undercooked, and too tasteless. Even after adding much chilli-flakes, it still remained tasteless. 
 

My friend’s fish dish. It tasted pretty all right, but as mentioned it was too small a portion.

Our dessert: ice cream in a pack. haha what a joke! But I thought this was the best part of the meal – because it’s hard to go wrong with something packaged and the rest of the dishes were pretty horrid.

But the company was fabulous, Cafe’ Cartel’s got these 3 to thank.
Michelle and Helmi!🙂

Routing and I.

🙂 2 more weeks of school break till my next 5-month sprint! I am looking forward to making more new friends. 
 

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Cafe’ Cartel’s Food Standard Has Dropped.”

  1. Jeena Says:

    It is such a shame the food did not taste good.😦 But at least you had great friends with you.🙂

  2. amsiewong Says:

    Jeena: Yes thank God.🙂

  3. brendan stallard Says:

    Amsie,

    Any evidence the global food crunch is affecting public food supply where you are?

    I’ve noticed that food prices are rocketing in the supermarkets both here in Atlanta and in London where I am now. I’ve noticed the restaurant prices have so far gone up about 25% so far, and putting service charges on, where they didn’t before, and worst of all nickel and diming on the little things.

    I wonder if these folks in SG are suffering the same way?

    brendan

    brendan

  4. brendan stallard Says:

    LOL!

    Amsie,

    I know you aren’t wearing the T shirt: but what is the city built on?

    brendan

  5. Sherxr Says:

    Ahem. For those unknowing folks out there, Cafe Cartel is part of Gloria Jean’s cafe (from Australia) management. I know a friend’s friend (long story) who is the marketing manager of the chain years before this Cafe Cartel became a hit and gone into demise nowadays.

    I used to love frequenting the chain at Raffles City for their enormous portions of Waffles with ice cream! Reminded me of those Buttermilk Pancakes in SF!!! Yums!

    Now look at the pathetic display of pasta with Pineapple ring??? It looks more like Char Kway Teow from Hawker Centre!!!

    Tsk tsk tsk…

  6. amsiewong Says:

    Brendan: I think in general, prices of food is going up everywhere, but not all standards are lost-perhaps just a tiny raise in prices in the menu that’s all. Sorry am not sure about the T-shirt, haha! Shall ask my friend the next time.😛 You’re funny.

    Sherxr: Oh they are, aw shucks. Yea I remember Cartel being a great place to hang. Not sure if their ribs are still as good as before, don’t dare to try! I think Char Kway Teow would have tasted better, honestly.

Leave a Reply

