“Beach-Themed” Birthday Cake (Butter Cake With Butter Frosting).

I had so much fun baking this birthday cake for my friend Samuel, who turned 25. A beach-themed cake came to mind and  I thought to myself, “okay there would be a beach mat on the sand, umbrellas and some sharks in the water”🙂

First of all, I needed 3 layers of butter cake. Since my oven is a tiny electric one (which bakes less evenly), I baked it in 3 batches. You may freeze the cooled cake for up to 3 months and thaw it for at least 2 hours before you start to decorate the cake. 

Butter Cake (serves about 9)
Adapted from “Party Cakes for kids”, Murdoch Books Australia 

150g butter, softened
1/2 cup caster sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 and 1/2 cups self-raising flour
1/3 cup fresh milk (if you want it more moist, replace some of the fresh milk with some canned condensed milk)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees celsius. Lightly grease a round cake tin (I used a 15cm in diameter tin) and line the base with baking paper.
2. Beat the butter and sugar with electric beaters until light and creamy. Beat in eggs gradually and add the vanilla extract and beat until combined.
3. Fold in the sifted flour alternatively with the milk until smooth. Spoon mixture into tin and smooth the surface. Bake for about 15 to 20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted into the centre of the cake.
4. Leave the cake in the tin for about 5 minutes before turning it out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
5. Frost it or freeze it in cling-wrap until it is ready to be frosted🙂

And then…Viola. My butter cake layers thawing from the cold of the night.

Here’s my blue frosting for the ‘sea waves’ using this from allrecipes. For this cake size, I changed the total frosting portion to 18. I used a drop of blue colouring to mimic the waves.

For the ‘sand’ portion of the cake, I added less icing sugar to the frosting as it would be topped by brown sugar and I wanted to it look less stiff.

The ‘sand’.
 

The ‘sharks’, I made these out of cardboard paper. (Jaws piano tune in my head)
 

Layer 1 and 2 of the cake frosted with the ‘sand’ frosting. I would use whipped cream with fresh strawberries as a filling next time. 

The sand portion all frosted.

‘Sand’ and ‘waves’ added.

Little beach mat I made, near the sharks. *Shudders.

The entire decoration before the birthday boy was surprised at Starbucks. 

Surprise Samuel, from your friends and friendly baristas at Starbucks!

 Here’s how the inside of the cake looked like.

The cake disappeared really quickly, I was so pleased and I think Samuel was pleased too. Above all, I had a blast making it. Looking forward to baking for Christmas.😀

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to ““Beach-Themed” Birthday Cake (Butter Cake With Butter Frosting).”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Such a cute cake!!😀

  2. oldskoolmark Says:

    Hahahaha, i had something to eat before coming here, your cake looks awesome!

  3. justine Says:

    that’s adorable!

  4. Delicious Cake Recipes Says:

    Delicious Cake Recipes…

    […]“Beach-Themed” Birthday Cake (Butter Cake With Butter Frosting). « Curious Foodie.[…]…

Leave a Reply

