DanDan Wu @ Ximending, Taipei.

When Calin and I arrived in Taipei some two weeks ago, we were starved. This was mainly because we refused to eat plane food and wanted some real Tawinese cuisine. 

After an hour bus ride to the hotel at Ximending, we went to DanDan Wu (a direct translation is EggEgg House) nearby. 

Here’s a photo from outside the restaurant, so many floors of it! We were however too hungry to wait for seats on the upper floors so we settled for the ground floor.
 

Here’s my huge plate of ‘spicy’ chicken, egg with rice, spaghetti with tomato sauce and some salad. The spaghetti wasn’t fantastic, tasted like it came from a can without much flavour. Also, if you’re a chilli-loving-Singaporean, you should not take their ‘spicy’ too seriously. 
 

Here’s the view after I ‘broke’ my egg cap on my rice. In Taiwan, only Japanese rice is used…I love it!
 

Calin’s pork-chop rice with Japanese curry was much nicer, do try this one.
 

However, I would not advice you to eat large meals like that as you’d be missing out on the street food, which is SO delicious! More posts on that soon.🙂

The view across the restaurant. I love Taiwan so much. It was a comfortable 12 degrees and boy was I excited for the next 7 days to come. 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “DanDan Wu @ Ximending, Taipei.”

  1. brendan stallard Says:

    Amsie,

    Neat pictures, I love that your blog is so picture heavy. The food looks delightful and that HUUUGE plate, LOL! I liked the look of that pork chop thing, that looked mucho edible.

    I look forward to the piccies of Taipei, soon, and the street food.

    Besitos!

    brendan

  2. brendan stallard Says:

    Amsie,

    I meant to add, did you sing “The Green Island Serenade” which I heard sung by Vienna Teng some years ago. Completely in a language I could not understand but the emotions of the song went straight to my heart.

    Happy to send you a copy if you have not heard it, it is really quite remarkable.

    brendan

  3. amsiewong Says:

    @brendan: Thanks once again, I always feel so encouraged by your comments bren!🙂 I wish I had more time to blog every day like before! haha…and hmmm, “The Green Island Serenade” sounds foreign to me, saw your email so I’ll check it out soon!🙂

  4. TheBlurMe Says:

    Do you know the address of Dan Dan Wu? or perhaps the street? Thanks

  5. Dave Says:

    Delicious snapshots and thoughts U have here on Dan Dan Wu Tamago Ya, Amsiewong!🙂

    I’ll be glad to share your Taipei food pages with fans in my Taiwan travel site.

    Shall we exchange links?
    Thanks.

  6. The best restaurant review blog in Taipei is Jaysun Eats Taipei, which has a lot of greatcafes reviews. There are every possible detail you could think about the restaurant / cafe and I especially like the Google street view Map. I was using a different f Says:

    The best restaurant review blog in Taipei is Jaysun Eats Taipei, which has a lot of greatcafes reviews. There are every possible detail you could think about the restaurant / cafe and I especially like the Google street view Map. I was using a differ…

    […]DanDan Wu @ Ximending, Taipei. « Curious Foodie.[…]…

Leave a Reply

