Taipei’s Shilin Night Market.

It was a night for some food adventure. Calin and I were on a mission to try whatever our bellies can contain for the night.

The Taiwanese call this the “coffin bread” (棺材板 guān cái bǎn), which is bread stuffed with savoury filling, served toasted on the outside. I probably picked the wrong flavour (prawn & cheese) as I heard the black pepper beef filling was much better. Next time for sure! 

Amazing oyster omelet that’s very unlike those you find in Singapore. It has an amazing sauce on top of a pancake-like fried egg and fresh juicy oysters. Underneath, you will find stir fried vegetables. A must try when you visit the Shilin Night Market. 

DO NOT underestimate or be put off by these chicken backsides. 5 chickens had to give up their lives for me to stuff one stick down with glee. If you’ve never eaten this, you’ve never been to Taiwan. 
 

Lovely dessert.

What’s even better than lovely dessert? When Calin smiles till her cheeks cramp up with her cute dessert boy. 
 

When we could not eat anymore…we went to buy local goodies.
Freshly fried almonds infused with honey and other sweet fatty gooey stuff. Cooled and then packed and then purchased. 
 

Does this make you want to go to Taipei?🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

25 Responses to “Taipei’s Shilin Night Market.”

  1. You Fei Says:

    Hi!

    Stumbled upon your blog via HHB and it was your aspiration to sell your bakes from home that caught my attention!

    I’m pretty new to the food blogging world although i’ve been baking on and off for quite long already. =)

    Been wanting to go to Taiwan to try out all the yummy street snacks and your post really makes me drool~~ haha prob just the right choice for my grad trip =p

    Mind if i link you to my blog?

    regards,
    youfei

  2. jonhyz Says:

    awesome! how’s calin? she was in my group last sem… so great to hear she got a job and all =)

    that oyster omelete is making me hungry =)

  3. luckytastebuds Says:

    Hi! I just found your site searching wordpress Taiwanese food blogs and YAAY i’m so glad I found it!! Your pictures are SO awesome and your adventures fun!! I am an Asian living in the US and constantly crave home food so I’ll definitely be visiting for more awesome treats!! Thank you so much for sharing.🙂

  4. amsiewong Says:

    @You Fei: Of course I do not mind, my pleasure!🙂 Think we have something in common then😉

    @johnyz: Calin’s been good I think, saw her almost 3 weeks ago, so long! Heh, it looks good aye?

    @luckytastebuds: Awwww thank you so much!!🙂 Wow hope the US is kind to you🙂

  5. brendan stallard Says:

    “Does this make you want to go to Taipei? :)”

    Amsie,

    Take me NOW!

    I don’t care about the calories, take me now, I’ll pack my toothbrush!

    brendan

  6. amsiewong Says:

    @brendan: haha bring your wifey there like now now now!🙂

  7. Ziling Says:

    Ahh so glad to stumble across your blog! I love food too.. so yay! Plus im going to taiwan in april so double yay! Love your blog hun, xx

  8. bodytreats Says:

    WOW!!! I didn’t know you posted MY photo. OMG!!! (I miss the food)

  9. rusty Says:

    I feel like taking the next flight to taipei after looking at these… awesome..

  10. amsiewong Says:

    @Ziling: Wow cool in april!🙂 Enjoyyyy.

    @bodytreats: Yes my dear, you and your favourite boy🙂

    @ rusty: Hahaha you should go!

  11. ladyironchef Says:

    i missed the taiwan sausages and ji-pa! haha

  12. st Says:

    hi there, ur job seems so exciting!
    mind if i ask wad r u working s?

    thanks!

    xoxo

  13. amsiewong Says:

    @ladyironchef: Sigh I miss Taiwan’s everything. hee.

    @st: I was still studying during these food adventures🙂

  14. 熊貓girl Says:

    wahh… I love your blog… makes me hungry… i must try to make that coffin bread… DIY style…

  15. yohabloespanglish Says:

    Can I want to go to TaiPei without those foods? But yes, everything but the oyster sauce makes me want to try food there.

    Almost completely Off Topic: when I was young (perhaps still now?) there was/is a computer game of tiled pieces which I am sure is basically Mah Jhong, but was called Tai Pei. I loved it, I was good at it.

    P.S. What was the dessert? Gelatin? It looks like it might be flavored with tamarind which is a perpetual favorite of mine. Tart!

  16. burpexcuzme Says:

    I have tons of friends from Taiwan, and each time they visit they come back with a few more extra pounds! apparantly taiwan is heaven for foodies. I’d love to visit too, but only to EAT!

  17. BusyDad Says:

    Hey there, I noticed some traffic coming from your site to mine so I checked it out… oh my wow!! Awesome food site. I’m quite the foodie myself. These pictures are drool-worthy. I actually have been to this market (I think I was 13 at the time) and the street food was unbelievable. I’m a huge fan of street food. From any culture.

  18. Maynas Eric Says:

    This looks nice!
    Thanks for sharing the nice picture stories!

  19. Liliai Says:

    mmm that first one looks really good🙂

  20. amsiewong Says:

    Thanks all for the visit!🙂

  21. siemin Says:

    Hi, thank you for your sharing…
    I’m a student and research about of the Taiwan’s Shilin Night Market, can you please help me to do a survey regarding on your view of Shilin Night Market, and the website as below as:
    http://www.my3q.com/home2/327/ximoon/72104.phtml
    Thank you for your helping, and wish you have a nice day. ^^

  22. Jamie Says:

    Hello😀 I’m going to taiwan this dec😀 In shilin or any places in taiwan, the clothes they sell there, do they sell only winter clothes like thick sweaters or knitted wear ? Or do they sell clohes that cam be worn for winter or normal weathers ? Thanks and hope you can reply asap😀

  23. Jamie Says:

    *can be worn for summer weather😛 typo error :p

  24. Seat Vacations Says:

    i am hungry!! your picture very appetizing..yup, i want to go to Taipei!!

  25. Kaohsiung Chat Says:

    Kaohsiung Chat…

    […]Taipei’s Shilin Night Market. « Curious Foodie.[…]…

Leave a Reply

