Fu Zhou (福州) Fish balls for Chinese New Year.

Before I begin, please allow me to assure you that fish balls are not the balls of fish (if they have any to begin with). It is simply fish meat rolled into a ball. My intercultural communications professor had mentioned that his friend was disturbed by the term while visiting Singapore. I thought I’d better clear any cloud in this area first.

My reunion dinner last night at my grandmother’s place wasn’t boring nor entirely interesting. The food was the highlight of it all. I am not a fan of fish balls but I always look forward to having Fu Zhou (福州) fish balls during this steamboat dinner. My aunt’s family owns Li Chuan Food Products, so we get a lot of fresh and free steamboat food from her. I’m so blessed. 

Traditionally, Fu Zhou fish balls is minced pork wrapped up in fish paste. My family enjoyed a Halal version which had minced chicken inside instead of pork. It was still delicious.

Here’s a Fu Zhou fish ball.

Here’s it again after I’ve sinked my teeth into it.

Mmmm all that flavour in the juice of this fish ball, a little taste of savoury heaven.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Fu Zhou (福州) Fish balls for Chinese New Year.”

  1. Sherxr Says:

    MMMMMMMMMMMm
    I love them too!!

  2. jeena Says:

    Hi Amelia these pictures look so very tasty! The Halal chicken inside sounds wonderful, I have never tried fish balls before.

    I have added your link to my blogs links page, I think you really do have a lovely food blog with beautiful pictures. 🙂

  3. amsiewong Says:

    Sherxr: 🙂 I only eat this kind of fish ball, don’t really fancy fish balls since I was young. But I do love meatballs!

    jeena: Awww you’re really making me blush. Where are you from by the way?

  4. jeena Says:

    Hi Amelia I am from the UK, did you say you were from Singapore? 🙂

  5. amsiewong Says:

    jeena: Yes I’m from sunny Singapore! The Chinese in this part of the world are busy celebrating Chinese New Year, there’s food to be seen everywhere. 🙂

    Which part of the UK are you from, and when did you fall in love with baking?

  6. natalie Says:

    I’ve been looking for a recipe for Fuzhou style fishballs like this. Do you have one? They look delicious!

  7. plymouth aquarium Says:

    plymouth aquarium…

    […]Fu Zhou (福州) Fish balls for Chinese New Year. « Curious Foodie.[…]…

Leave a comment